PA Fall Book + Speaker Series: Author Jessica Lahey December 3 at Noon via Zoom!

The Sun Valley Community School Parents' Association is THRILLED to offer Cutthroat parents/caregivers and the community the opportunity to join them for a new virtual ongoing event: Fall Book + Speaker Series. This series is free and open to the public.  

Join us on December 3 at noon via Zoom featuring renowned author Jessica Lahey. If you can (but not necessary), read her New York Times best-selling book "The Gift of Failure" in advance and prepare yourselves for a lively discussion and opportunity to ask questions. 

Zoom Link
​Meeting ID: 816 0250 3360 
​Passcode: 417990
​O​ne tap mobile
​+12532158782,,81602503360# US (Tacoma)

+13462487799,,81602503360# US (Houston)

​​Dial by your location        
​+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)        
​+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)        
​+1 408 638 0968 US (San Jose)        
​+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)        
​+1 646 876 9923 US (New York)        
​+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington D.C)        
​+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)Meeting ID: 816 0250 3360

​​Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kh78WYnr4 

About the Book
“In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults.

Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems.

Overparenting has the potential to ruin a child’s confidence and undermine their education, Lahey reminds us. Teachers don’t just teach reading, writing, and arithmetic. They teach responsibility, organization, manners, restraint, and foresight—important life skills children carry with them long after they leave the classroom.

Providing a path toward solutions, Lahey lays out a blueprint with targeted advice for handling homework, report cards, social dynamics, and sports. Most importantly, she sets forth a plan to help parents learn to step back and embrace their children’s failures. Hard-hitting yet warm and wise, The Gift of Failure is essential reading for parents, educators, and psychologists nationwide who want to help children succeed.”

About the Author
Jessica Lahey is a teacher, writer, and mom. Over twenty years, she’s taught every grade from sixth to twelfth in both public and private schools. She writes about education, parenting, and child welfare for The Atlantic, Vermont Public Radio, The Washington Post and the New York Times and is the author of the New York Times bestselling book, The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed. She is a member of the Amazon Studios Thought Leader Board and wrote the educational curriculum for Amazon Kids’ The Stinky and Dirty Show. Jessica earned a B.A. in Comparative Literature from the University of Massachusetts and a J.D. with a concentration in juvenile and education law from the University of North Carolina School of Law. She lives in Vermont with her husband and two sons. Her second book, The Addiction Inoculation: Raising Healthy Kids in a Culture of Dependence, will be released in April 2021.